And I Always Thought (2015)

Program Note

Trio for clarinet, violin and piano

And I Always Thought is a musical trope based on two poems of Bertolt Brecht - "And I Always Thought" and "Legend of the Unknown Soldier Beneath the Triumphal Arch". Though this composition consists only of "poems without words", it is the hope of the composer that an attentive listener might sense and follow it's lyric trajectory.

About The Work

And I Always Thought was commissioned by and is dedicated to, Plexus - Philip Arkinstall, clarinet, Monica Curro violin and Stefan Cassemenos piano.

Martin Bresnick